U is for Ugali

With a dash of cornmeal and a splash of water, you can enjoy the flavor of South Africa.

This simple recipe is known by many names depending up where you might be at mealtime, but in Kenya, ugali is the familiar name of this staple.

As you will learn from the following links, the cooked cornmeal is supposed to have a stiff, almost putty-like consistency:

http://allthingskenyan.com/countries/kenya/ugali-recipe

http://www.congocookbook.com/staple_dish_recipes/ugali.html

Unfortunately, I had far less cornmeal on hand than needed, so ended up with a porridge rather than a dough suitable for scooping some stew or picking up meat from a dish. I’ve opted to share my attempt with you anyway.

Bring 2 cups water to a boil. Add 1 cup cornmeal.

Stir constantly to avoid lumps. I used a whisk vigorously, but still had some lumps.

I spooned the thick porridge into bowls, knowing that it should have been much more dense and malleable when cooked.

Although I didn’t quite succeed at making ugali, I have learned about a basic food that might be new to me, but has been a part of countless meals for many generations.

I plan to try this recipe again and will share my (hopefully) much improved results with you then!

Leave a Reply

Sweet Tea Reads

The joy is in the doing - the mixing and the measuring and the sauteing and the ...

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Everydayhero

life & travel / vida & viajes

