V is for Veggies

One of my favorite dishes is veggies and rice … or veggies and cheese … or veggies and eggs … or just plain veggies.

Veggies Dinner CloseFor those of you for whom gardening is like breathing; walking outside and picking a clean dishpan full of onions, peppers, okra, corn and tomatoes is the first step in preparing any summertime meal.

Unfortunately, I am not a particularly successful gardener, but I have been spoiled by the bounty of – and learned many lessons from – gardens tended and loved by Aunt Betty, Isabelle and of course, Mona. SAM_1021

As I wash the radishes and slice the onions, I revisit those fragrant gardens of the women who guided me; who shared their quiet strength and immeasurable beauty through their actions; who loved me and taught me and rolled their eyes when I pulled up perfectly good plants, mistaking those oval leaves for mere weeds –again.

If you have a gardener’s soul, know that you are treasured by those of us who cannot grow a vegetable garden so lovely it becomes a wonderland of color and flavor and scent.

Thank you.

 

2 responses

  1. My mother always had a huge vegetable garden. I wish I had a fraction of her talent but while I do okay with houseplants, my gardens leave a lot to be desired.

    Like

  2. The photography is really nice. I took a lot of food pictures this challenge too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Historic Michigan Road

Explore Indiana's Pioneer Highway

Mark Allen Editorial

Thoughts on journalism and copy editing, including grammar, usage and style. For more about me, click My Home Page to go to www.markalleneditorial.com.

Invisible Indianapolis

Race, Heritage and Community Memory in the Circle City

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Mountain People's Assembly

Be Part of the Movement!

